Cold call results = 2+1 restaurants to test

So this week I have been trying to get back on the urban farm, trying to get it back up and going. (A couple of months ago I lost my last restaurant account and so it has been totally nonprofitable). I think I listed about 15 or so restaurants and just kept calling in the last few weeks. Luckily I got 2 of them to pick up and express interest. I am scheduled to bring them samples next week. I am going to work on those this weekend-actually Friday night. I need to get seeds into the soil. Also, I got a separate email from a previous chef who also used my microgreens. She told me she wanted to get some samples for this new restaurant where she is working at-awesome! That is a potential 3 restaurants in the next 2 weeks. Hopefully one or two of them push thru and sign up for weekly orders.
Cold calling:
A quick thing on how this process works for me. Basically I run a search online for restaurants and check their price range and sometimes their menus. I have been using Yelp, because the reviews there are helpful and the pricing is already shown in one app. It also shows a map of the restaurants so I can sort the calls via area and hit that area in one shot.
So I get a list of restos and then plug them in to Evernote. This lets me run out during office breaks to make my quick calls and not need any notebook/paper or pen to make notes. I do not have a lot of time to fuss, so I have to be efficient. I have all my real time updates on my phone right after I am done with the call. Here is a sample of the list with my notes on it:
resto-calls
So from the screenshot above, I had my original contact info. Sometimes menu notes. Then I do my calls during office breaks. Right afterwards, the notes I add are highlighted. I can schedule follow up calls on my calendar and keep track of progress. It is very light on my workload done this way, but I do need to transfer notes to a more permanent location when I have enough. Usually this is a spreadsheet on my Google drive.
Anyway, so tonight I will be planting my crops and soaking my seeds.
Also, this weekend I will be changing the oil in our jeep. I know it’s a tiny thing, but I am building knowledge on how to fix/maintain my own vehicle. One of the first things I learned was oil change.
Will also be redoing our living room coffee table. We have been scheming on what to do with this old piece of furniture that my wife got at the local thrift store. We thought we would change the glass top of it to planks of wood and try something different with it. It’s pretty cool, these types of projects have gotten my wife working with tools. She has learned a bunch of new things on her own. I try to just be there to consult and let her find her own initiative.
Update: Saturday 7am
I got up early and planted the microgreen samples. I wasted some time cleaning up the work table I have to do this in. The last few weeks of inactivity for the farm resulted in us dumping crap from other projects onto my farm work table. A ton of stuff there was from the scavenge trip we did at that end of the garage sale. I did a tray of each crop I have. I am done planting now & will be working on the blog for a bit.
micros-in-tray
Leave a Reply

