The Concerns of the Future

Part of why I wanted to start this blog is to clear my head of my thoughts by writing them down. This way I document it, and what gets documented can be tracked and managed so I know my progress.

There are a lot of things coming, and there is no way to forecast them all accurately. Due to limited resources (time, money, manpower) I try to focus my efforts on the following concerns for the future:

Financial – there are some real busts coming ahead with just the way the country has been running it’s finances. There are also more localized, targeted financial hits coming with technological and demographic changes.

Housing – I am currently a renter, and rent is expected to rise faster than home prices.

Security – we see it on the news all the time: active shooter scenarios, violent crime, home invasions and the stuff of nightmares. I can still recall the video captured by a webcam of a big 6′ male beating up a smaller female in the living room (repeatedly) while her 4 year old daughter whimpers with a pillow on the couch. Recently, here in Dallas, a shooter killed multiple police officers. There have also been a lot of riots in recent years. People have gotten used to it and are quite good at organizing them.

Climate – Texas is dang hot. That may change with how the sun has it’s cycles. This is based on a book by Mr. John Casey called “Dark Winter”. The gist of it is that the sun runs on cycles that can affect the planet with intense winters-and these cycles are historically documented. Also, it is possible that we will be getting more severe, localized weather events. We get thunderstorms out of nowhere pretty often, we get hit with hail quite often. This means we could see more tornadoes as well. The last one that was close to us was about 20 miles in Rowlett.

rowlett_tornado_dec_26_update

Jobs – more of our day to day jobs are being eliminated/changing. This is brought about by automation and technology, not just outsourcing. I am threatened that my current workplace is not shifting us to the new industry standard software. I do not want to be obsoleted because they do not want to step forward. I am also concerned long term that the viability of my job will shift significantly and that is why I am working on my own business.

Food – my family has been impacted by GMO food and we know we should stay far from it. My son has eczema and we know we get sick when we eat it regularly. We cannot always eat “organic” and they are not really the solution either. I started an urban farm this year, at some point I plan on growing much more of our own food.

19g300gtle2k6jpg

Healthcare – this is more of a financial issue for us. Currently we are fairly healthy and will be working on improving our health. However the cost of healthcare has been a big money suck on our lives. Thanks to Obamacare we whether we use it or not. We were lied to folks-hope you get that by now.

I hope to build up resiliency in my family so we can deal with these concerns. We will need to have multiple plans to address each of these issues and the whole lot of other issues that will spring from them. I have always been a problem solver at work and at home and now it is time to grow up and put those problem solving skills to better use: changing our lifestyles so we can be in better shape for the future. Note, this is different from earning more money so we can buy ourselves out of the mess we can see coming. This is building the solutions into our lifestyles.

 

 

Leave a Reply

